Generalized Image Acquisition and Analysis

Performance Capture of High-Speed Motion Using Staggered Multi-View Recording

We present a markerless performance capture system that can acquire the motion and the texture of human actors performing fast movements using only commodity hardware. To this end we introduce two novel concepts: First, a staggered surround multi-view recording setup that enables us to perform model-based motion capture on motion-blurred images, and second, a model-based deblurring algorithm which is able to handle disocclusion, self-occlusion and complex object motions. We show that the model-based approach is not only a powerful strategy for tracking but also for deblurring highly complex blur patterns.

Teaching

Introduction to Image Processing and Computer Vision

Lecture in winter term 2013/14

Lecturer: Ivo Ihrke

General Information

Course webpage - Libres Savoirs

When: 2014, Jan. 23rd to 2014, Apr. 10th
Where: IOA/IOGS buiding room E201
Registration for mailing list: send email to Ivo Ihrke (firstname[dot]lastname[at]inria.fr)

Overview:

This lecture covers basic image processing techniques in two dimensions. Special emphasis will be put on the origin of images, i.e. including detection and noise sources. Apart from that, the course will include both classic as well as more modern developments in the area.

The tentative course schedule is


Thursday 23.01.2014, 8am Introduction and Sensor Technology Overview [pdf sensors]
Thursday 31.01.2014, 8am Noise, Dynamic Range, and Color [pdf noise/dr/color]
Thursday 06.02.2014, 8am Compression and Signal Processing [pdf compression]
Thursday 13.02.2014, 8am Images as Functions [pdf functions]
Thursday 20.02.2014, 8am Distance Functions, Edge Detection and Convolutional/Non-Convolutional Filters [pdf filters]
Thursday 27.02.2014 vacances
Thursday 06.03.2014, 8am projet d'ingenieur
Thursday 13.03.2014, 8am Image Statistics, Histograms & Feature Detection [pdf stats & feature detection]
Thursday 20.03.2014, 8am cancelled
Wednesday 26.03.2014, 10am cancelled
Thursday 03.04.2014, 10am Feature Detection and Invariance [pdf feature description]
Thursday 10.04.2014, 10am Image Blending and Panoramas [pdf blending & panoramas]

FAQ:


Go back to lecture list