Generalized Image Acquisition and Analysis

An evaluation of optical flow algorithms for background oriented schlieren imaging

The background oriented schlieren method (BOS) allows for accurate flow measurements with a simple experimental configuration. To estimate per-pixel displacement vectors between two images, BOS systems traditionally borrow window-based algorithms from particle image velocimetry. In this paper, we evaluate the performance of more recent optical flow methods in BOS settings. We also analyze the impact of different background patterns, suggesting the use of a pattern with detail at many scales. Experiments with both synthetic and real datasets show that the performance of BOS systems can be significantly improved through a combination of optical flow algorithms and multiscale background.

Teaching

Introduction to Image Processing and Computer Vision

Lecture in winter term 2013/14

Lecturer: Ivo Ihrke

General Information

Course webpage - Libres Savoirs

When: 2014, Jan. 23rd to 2014, Apr. 10th
Where: IOA/IOGS buiding room E201
Registration for mailing list: send email to Ivo Ihrke (firstname[dot]lastname[at]inria.fr)

Overview:

This lecture covers basic image processing techniques in two dimensions. Special emphasis will be put on the origin of images, i.e. including detection and noise sources. Apart from that, the course will include both classic as well as more modern developments in the area.

The tentative course schedule is


Thursday 23.01.2014, 8am Introduction and Sensor Technology Overview [pdf sensors]
Thursday 31.01.2014, 8am Noise, Dynamic Range, and Color [pdf noise/dr/color]
Thursday 06.02.2014, 8am Compression and Signal Processing [pdf compression]
Thursday 13.02.2014, 8am Images as Functions [pdf functions]
Thursday 20.02.2014, 8am Distance Functions, Edge Detection and Convolutional/Non-Convolutional Filters [pdf filters]
Thursday 27.02.2014 vacances
Thursday 06.03.2014, 8am projet d'ingenieur
Thursday 13.03.2014, 8am Image Statistics, Histograms & Feature Detection [pdf stats & feature detection]
Thursday 20.03.2014, 8am cancelled
Wednesday 26.03.2014, 10am cancelled
Thursday 03.04.2014, 10am Feature Detection and Invariance [pdf feature description]
Thursday 10.04.2014, 10am Image Blending and Panoramas [pdf blending & panoramas]

FAQ:


Go back to lecture list